Why Does God Wait So Long?

Well, as you have all probably learned by now through either e-mail or BH’s blog God does in fact answer whining and temper tantrums–WE GOT OUR REFERRAL!!!!!! 

I don’t know if, like any parent, God responds to this deplorable behavior just to finally get some much-needed peace and quiet, or if He truly feels His child is deserving of His attention and good graces.  No matter the reason I just know that MY whining and temper tantrum seemed to do some good.  Much as any child, I’m not sure I really care WHY God finally “gave into” my loathsome behavior.  Unfortunately for Him this probably means I haven’t learned my lesson and when I get tired of the next wait period I will just start my whining and temper tantrum all over! 

But you know what?  I have to stop and ask myself a question before I get all hyped up for my next wait.  The question is…”Why Does God Wait So Long”?  I first heard this question and answer as a teenager, listening to Steve and Annie Chapman’s “An Evening Together” album.  In telling a story of waiting and finally getting the answer he was looking for Steve Chapman begs the question “Why Does God Wait So Long?”  His answer?  “So we know Who to THANK when deliverance comes!”    Isn’t that the truth?!

When my phone rang Monday morning, just after 9:00 a.m. my heart stopped for a fleeting second before I jumped on the phone after only a ring and a half!  When our SW announced herself my mind immediately began reeling!  Although we were expecting this call I just could not think straight.  She finally had to offer to call BH for a 3-way call just for my nerves to settle.  But you see, before I even answered that phone…from its first ring…I immediately began thanking God!  I KNEW this was “the call”.  Had we not waited for as “long” (I put this in quotes because compared to many other families our wait really was NOT that long and the time flew by quicker than I could have imagined) as we did I would not have immediately gone to God in praise!  Sure…He would have received my thanks in time, but would it have happened before I even answered the phone?  Would it have been with tears in my eyes as I practically fell to the floor in awe of His timing?  Would it have been the thanks and praise He deserved?  NO!  And for that very reason God waits to answer our prayers.  No, I don’t believe God has poor self-esteem and needs our validation when He does something wonderful!  But it’s what WE need!  We need to have Someone who is always there for us, always holding us and supporting us, even when we fall.  And all He asks in return is that we put our trust and faith in Him!  When we take time to REALLY thank Him we demonstrate that faith.  He and I both know I’ll turn my back on Him again, as I do so often, wondering why I don’t get what I want when I want it…forgetting that He is the answer to my pain and anguish.  But I also have faith that He will be there waiting for me to come back to Him.  And when I do it will be in praise as I thank Him for always being there for me and answering my prayers.  So, when the wait begins to get too long and I find myself falling back into that feeling of despair and self-pity I need only ask myself…

“Why Does God Wait So Long?”

“So I know Who to thank when deliverance [finally] comes!”

~ by shoolady on May 22, 2007.

One Response to “Why Does God Wait So Long?”

  1. Hello. One thing I do know is God does not bless murmering and complaining. It is sin. The israelites died in the desert because of it. All it does is open the door to the enemy. It will cause you to stop spending time with God as much as what you were. Then Satan will give you a false type of peace. You then discover that when you push back into God You will find your trial hasnt gone anywhere!!! You cannot twist Gods arm. He knows what he is doing and we must trust him. Nevertheless lord not my will but yours be done.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

